DDA Service System

What is the DDA?
The Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA), an agency of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, provides a variety of services to individuals with developmental disabilities and their families. DDA determines levels of support for each person in the program based on his or her needs and the availability of funding. The administration also provides leadership to ensure that people with developmental disabilities can fully participate in community life.

Who is eligible?
To be eligible for DDA services, the individual must be a resident of the state of Maryland and have a developmental disability. A developmental disability is defined as a physical or mental condition other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness and a need for services that are individually planned and coordinated. The condition has to be likely to continue indefinitely and has to be manifested before the age of 22, with the result of the condition being an inability to live independently.

How do I obtain services?
To obtain services, please contact the Southern Maryland Regional Office in Laurel at www.ddamaryland.org/SMRO/ or call 301-362-5100. Click here to access an application. Keep a copy of your application and submit the original to the Regional Office. Once the application has been received, you will have a formal interview with a DDA representative followed by the DDA’s determination of your eligibility and priority level. If you are approved to receive services, you may then contact a provider agency such as The Arc and begin the process of developing a formal service proposal.

A list of regional service providers is available by clicking here.

What types of services does DDA provide?